Steve Austin: Faith + Mental Health
Catching Your Breath
Healing Your Image of God
0:00
-43:50

Healing Your Image of God

Exclusive Teaching from Steve Austin

“Some days I am not sure if my faith is riddled with doubt, or whether, graciously, my doubt is riddled with faith. And yet I continue to live in a world the way a religious person lives in the world; I keep living in a world that I know to be enchanted, and not left alone. I doubt; I am uncertain; I am restless, prone to wander. And yet glimmers of holy keep interrupting my gaze.” -Lauren Winner, Still

Let’s begin with a few what-ifs:

  • What if this journey toward Jesus came with even more freedom than you can imagine?

  • What if the American version of Evangelical Christianity isn’t 100% right 100% of the time?

  • What if God is even better, more loving, more inclusive, more patient, and more present than we ever imagined?

  • What if?

In The God-Shaped Brain by Dr. Thomas Jennings, he says that a healthy view of a loving God can literally transform our brains.

Side note: did you know that just meditating on a God of love for 12 minutes a day can actually rewire your brain? Sure, it’s a slow, patient process, but it’s one worth starting as soon as possible.

So where do you begin? Today, I want to give you what I believe are the first three steps in healing your image of God.

Listen to this free podcast, and pre-order my new book, Hiding in the Pews, by clicking here.

*”Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing,” performed by the ever-magical Stella Hess.

0 Comments
Steve Austin: Faith + Mental Health
Catching Your Breath
Join Steve Austin on the sacred journey from chaos to calm. Each episode will focus on practical ways to catch your breath. Self-help topics include self-compassion, shame, stress management, spirituality, and more.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Steve Austin